My Invisible Illness-You May Not Know

30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know

1. The illness I live with is: Endometriosis/PCOS/Infertility
2. I was diagnosed with it in the year: 2013
3. But I had symptoms since: 2012
4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: Never having children & living with pain EVERYDAY of my life.
5. Most people assume: I exaggerate/fake it.
6. The hardest part about mornings are: Moving around/Showering/Getting dressed with severe pain.
7. My favorite medical TV show is: The Doctors
8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: Phone
9. The hardest part about nights are: Trying to lay down in bed when my body hurts so badly from the current day.
10. Each day I take 3+ pills & vitamins.
11. Regarding alternative treatments I:  have tried Fertility treatments, Surgeries, Birth Control, Lupron, Herbal Meds and they did not work. I’m contemplating a hysterectomy that will definitely help.
12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: Not sure but I think people would better understand an illness that was more visible.
13. Regarding working and career: It’s nearly impossible. I hardly make it through the day, the days that I am able to actually work.
14. People would be surprised to know: that I have spent 6+ THOUSAND Dollars on trying to conceive a baby and IVF would cost me an additional $15,000 per try.
15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: I will never have children.
16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: make it through the day.
17. The commercials about my illness: depict barbed wire wrapped around my abdomen. Pretty accurate.
18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: having a sexual relationship with my husband.
19. It was really hard to have to give up: having a family. No one will ever understand that loss.
20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: Blogging.
21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would:  try to get pregnant.
22. My illness has taught me: to be thankful for everything that I do have in my life.
23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: I know someone who got pregnant with what you have, it’s not impossible. You’re still young you have many years to get pregnant. (NO I don’t have many years and NO it’s NOT that easy for EVERYONE to get pregnant. My disease is very severe.)
24. But I love it when people: try to understand and don’t judge/attack me for the truth of my disease.
25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: Never Give Up. When we long for life without difficulties, remind us that oaks grow strong in contrary winds and diamonds are made under pressure.
26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: It’s not going to be easy but don’t give up.
27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: how quickly people/friends/family will judge you and how people think they get it when in fact they have no idea.
28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: My husband listens to me, rubs me when I’m sore, helps pick up the house and takes care of the animals when I can’t.
29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: I want people to be more aware of Endometriosis and how life altering it really is.
30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: good.

Leave a Reply

